OFFICE OF ATTORNEY (GENERAL
STATE OF OKLAHOMA

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION
2017-704A

John W. Maile, Executive Director September 29, 2017
Oklahoma Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission

421 NW 13" Street, Suite 330

Oklahoma City, OK 73103

Dear Executive Director Maile:

This office has received your request for a written Attorney General Opinion regarding agency
action that the Oklahoma Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission intends to take pursuant to
a consent agreement with used motor vehicle dealer licensee UD-4806. The proposed action is to
impose a $200 fine for each of 12 sales made by unlicensed salespersons, totaling $2,400; and to
impose a $50 fine for each of 12 transactions in which the dealer failed to make copies of titles
after sales, failed to execute title receipts, failed to use “We Owe” forms, and/or failed to execute
odometer statements, totaling $600.

The licensee failed to license 2 individuals as used motor vehicle salespersons who sold 12 vehicles
while unlicensed. The licensee’s principal was previously advised to license said individuals but
failed to do so. Also, a review of the licensee’s records revealed 12 transactions in which the
licensee failed to make copies of titles after sale, failed to execute title receipts, failed to use “We
Owe” forms, and/or failed to execute odometer statements.

Oklahoma law specifically requires that used motor vehicle salespersons be licensed. 47
0.S.Supp.2016, § 583(A)(1). Additionally, the Commission’s rules require that “[w]ritten notice
of thirty (30) day title-transfer . . . and receipt for delivery of certificate of title to buyer[,]”
“[o]domoter statement[s]” and “”We Owe’ form[s], if applicable[]” are “required in the sale of a
used motor vehicle by a used motor vehicle dealer to anyone other than a licensed dealer.” OAC
765:10-3-1(a)(2),(4),(10). The rules also require used motor vehicle dealers to “keep for a period
of three (3) years from the date of sale . . . a copy of the front and back of the completely assigned
certificate of title to each vehicle sold[.]” OAC 765:10-3-3(a). The Commission is authorized to
fine licensees who violate the Commission’s rules and its authorizing statutes. 47 O.S.Supp.2016,
§ 584(A)(3),(5),(7)(b). The action seeks to enforce these statutory requirements. The Commission
may reasonably believe that imposing fines will deter future violations.
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It is, therefore, the official opinion of the Attorney General that the Oklahoma Used Motor Vehicle
and Parts Commission has adequate support for the conclusion that this action advances the State
of Oklahoma’s policy to protect the public interest and the public welfare.
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