Home  /  News  /  Newsroom

Attorney General Hunter Announces Emergency Price Stabilization Act in Effect for 52 Counties

Attorney General Hunter Announces Emergency Price Stabilization Act in Effect for 52 Counties

OKLAHOMA CITY – Attorney General Hunter announced the Emergency Price Stabilization Act is in effect for the 52 counties listed in the governor’s executive order, declaring a state of emergency due to wildfires.

The price gouging statute prohibits an increase of more than 10 percent for the price of goods and services after a declared emergency. Additionally, the act allows the attorney general to pursue charges against individuals or businesses that engage in price gouging.

Attorney General Hunter said the statue will help ensure fair prices for those in need.

“Wildfires have ravaged more than 200,000 acres across the state and individuals in these areas need our help,” Attorney General Hunter said. “As state officials, we must do all we can to get Oklahomans the resources they need to get through this troubling time. Additionally, as the dry conditions and wildfires continue, I remind individuals to pay attention, listen to media reports and evacuate the area if they are being told they are in danger.

“We can help replace belongings, but not a life.”

The act is in effect for 30 days after the declaration. It remains in effect for another 180 days for prices for repairs, remodeling and construction.

For more information or to report a complaint, individuals are encouraged to contact the Consumer Protection Unit by phone at (405) 521-2029, or email at consumerprotection@oag.ok.gov.

The counties included in the governor’s executive order are Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Carter, Cimarron, Cleveland, Comanche, Cotton, Creek, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Garvin, Grady, Grant, Greer, Harmon, Harper, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnston, Kay, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Lincoln, Logan, Love, Major, Marshall, McClain, Murray, Noble, Oklahoma, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Osage, Pawnee, Payne, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Roger Mills, Seminole, Stephens, Texas, Tillman, Washita, Woods and Woodward.

Read the executive order, here: https://bit.ly/2JLpRro.