Home  /  News  /  Newsroom

Attorney General Hunter Announces Members of Okla Commission on Opioid Abuse, Sets Meeting Schedule

Attorney General Hunter Announces Members of Okla Commission on Opioid Abuse, Sets Meeting Schedule

OKLAHOMA CITY – Oklahoma Attorney General Mike Hunter today announced the names of the individuals who will serve on the Oklahoma Commission on Opioid Abuse.

Attorney General Hunter, Gov. Mary Fallin, House Speaker Charles McCall and Senate President Pro Tempore Mike Schulz selected the members of the commission after the passage of Senate Concurrent Resolution 12 in May.

The nine-member commission, chaired by Attorney General Hunter, contains members from the medical community, law enforcement, private sector businesses and a member from the Oklahoma House, Senate and includes two members as advisers.

“I appreciate those who have stepped up to serve on the commission,” Attorney General Hunter said. “Each member has a professional, personal or firsthand account of the opioid epidemic. I am confident we will work together to bring the best recommendations possible to the legislature and the governor.

“The opioid epidemic is the modern day plague. It has no limits and its fatal effects have already left a devastating toll on the state. We are committed to taking any and all actions necessary to resolve this deadly crisis.”

The first of five meetings will be on Tuesday, Aug. 29 from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Subsequent meetings will be on a date later to be announced in September through January.

The main areas of focus will be on prevention, intervention, education, treatment, law enforcement and rehabilitation. The goal of the commission is to release its findings and suggestions for potential legislation in the weeks leading up to the 2018 legislative session.  

The meetings will be at the Oklahoma State Capitol, 2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Oklahoma City, 73105 in room 419-A. The meetings will be open to the public and a live stream will be available, here: http://bit.ly/2uZTzFx.  

Commission members include: 

Senator AJ Griffin – represents District 20 in the Oklahoma Senate. 

Bob Howard – Oklahoma City businessman. 

Cynthia Fain –  pharmacist and serves as the chief compliance officer at the Oklahoma Pharmacy Board. 

John Scully –  director of the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs Director  ex-officio member. 

Kevin Buchanan – district attorney for Washington and Nowata Counties, president of the Oklahoma District Attotneys Council.   

Dr. Kevin Taubman – president of the Oklahoma State Medical Association and is an assistant professor in the OU School of Community Medicine, department of Surgery and Vascular Fellowship Program director in Tulsa. 

Layne Subera, DO – doctor of osteopathic medicine. 

Terri White –  commissioner of the Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services – ex-officio member.

Representative Tim Downing –  represents District 42 in the Oklahoma House of Representatives.

Editor’s Note: The position of a dentist licensed by the board of dentistry remains unfilled. 

For full bios on the members, click here.