Oklahoma Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Programs Applauded for Certification
OKLAHOMA CITY — The Attorney General’s Victim Services Unit Tuesday recognized domestic violence and sexual assault programs across the state that achieved the highest standards necessary for certification.
“A majority of the programs in the state have achieved a score of at least 90 percent on their certification reviews, which is outstanding and a testament to how hard Oklahoma advocates and the Attorney General’s Office have worked to address this issue,” said Lesley March, chief of the AG’s Victim Services Unit. “We applaud their continued dedication.”
State law requires certification of centers every three years by the Attorney General’s Office to ensure that programs are providing the necessary services for clients, proper training for staff members and maintaining essential resources.
The certification process involves an application, a site review for conditional or temporary certification, a plan of correction to address any deficiencies, and a follow-up site review to see if corrective actions have been implemented.
Certification is granted after a program has achieved 100 percent compliance with the standards of the Oklahoma Administrative Code. In 2005, the Oklahoma legislature authorized the AG’s Office to oversee the certification process.
There are 29 certified domestic violence and sexual assault programs in Oklahoma. These programs offer access to shelter, a 24-hour statewide referral hotline, safety planning, crisis intervention, court advocacy and individual assistance for clients and their children.
For additional information about the AG’s Victim Services Unit, including certification, visit www.oag.ok.gov. If you are in an abusive relationship or have been sexually assaulted, or if you know someone who needs help, please call (800) 522-SAFE.