Oklahoma Attorney General - www.oag.ok.gov
Oklahoma Attorney General - www.oag.ok.gov

The Attorney General's
Telemarketer Restriction Act Consumer Registry


Requirements and Forms for Telemarketers



Register a telephone number

Report a Telemarketer Violation

National "Don't Call" Registry

Registration Schedule

The Attorney General's Office will submit names to telemarketers every 3 months, following this schedule:

If you register by:


Your number must be removed:

Dec. 1


Feb. 1

March 1


May 1

June 1


Aug. 1

Sept. 1


Nov. 1

Do Not Call Logo

What is the Oklahoma Telemarketer Restriction Act Consumer Registry?
The Oklahoma Telemarketer Restriction Act Consumer Registry lists the telephone numbers of Oklahomans who don't want unsolicited telemarketing calls and have properly registered with the Oklahoma Attorney General. The Telemarketer Restriction Act, passed in 2002, prohibits telemarketers from contacting Oklahomans on the list, with some exceptions that were written into the law.

What are the exceptions?
The Telemarketer Restriction Act has some exceptions. Oklahomans should know that registering should reduce the number of telemarketing calls they receive but, the calls will not stop completely. Oklahoma law provides exceptions for:
- Solicitations for charitable or religious groups,
- Solicitations for political candidates and causes,
- Solicitations for not-for-profit organizations organized under 501(c)(3) of the IRS code,
- Solicitations to arrange a face-to-face meeting between a sales person and consumer,
- Solicitations from telemarketers with whom the consumer has an established business relationship.

The established business relationship is one formed in the preceding 24 months by a voluntary, two-way communication. The consumer does not have to purchase goods or services to create an established business relationship, any inquiry or application by the consumer is sufficient.

How do I register?
Consumers can register telephone numbers by internet, mail or by calling a toll-free telephone number. When registering, consumers will be asked to provide their name, physical address, county and email address.

- Consumers can register on-line here on the Attorney General's website.
- Consumers can also register by phone by calling:

(405) 521-3921

How much does it cost to register?
Registration is free for consumers. Telemarketers who want to solicit business in Oklahoma must purchase the list and remove the names and telephone numbers of Oklahomans who have registered from their list of potential customers.

When did the law take effect?
The Law took effect January 1, 2003. The law allows telemarketers 30 days to remove consumers' names from their solicitation list and the list is updated on a quarterly basis.


Oklahoma Attorney General - www.oag.ok.gov

|313 NE 21st Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73105 | OKC 405.521.3921| Tulsa 918.581.2885 |