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Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Commission

4334 Northwest Expressway, Ste. 183

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73116

Dear Executive Director Dockum:

This office has received your request for a written Attorney General Opinion regarding agency
actions that the Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Commission intends to take. The proposed actions are
to impose—pursuant to consent agreements—fines on some six new motor vehicle dealer
licensees for employing unlicensed salespersons for periods ranging from about two weeks to
about one year. The unlicensed salespersons involved had been licensed, but because of tax
delinquency with the State of Oklahoma their licenses could not be renewed. Each dealer
licensee continuing to employ those unlicensed salespersons would receive a $100 to $1000 fine
for each unlicensed salesperson employed, the fine differing according to the length of
employment. The specific licensees, the number of unlicensed persons employed, the fines, and
the length of unlicensed employment for each are attached as Appendix A.

Oklahoma law authorizes the Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Commission to “impose a fine not to
exceed One Thousand Dollars . . . against a dealer per occurrence” for several reasons, including
“employ[ing] unlicensed salespersons . . . or other unlicensed persons in connection with the sale
of new motor vehicles.” 47 O.S.Supp.2015, § 565(A), (A)(7)(d). Further, Oklahoma law makes
clear that professional licensees in any industry may not renew their licenses until they resolve
disputes with the Oklahoma Tax Commission. 68 O.S.2011, § 238.1(E). The actions enforce
these statutory requirements by imposing fines that deter failure to ensure new motor vehicle
salespersons obtain and keep valid licenses.

It is, therefore, the official opinion of the Attorney General that the Oklahoma Motor Vehicles
Commission has adequate support for the conclusion that these actions advance the State of
Oklahoma’s policies to require licensure of new motor vehicle salespersons and to require
compliance with Oklahoma tax law to maintain professional licensure.
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APPENDIX A
SALES PERSON EMPLOYED
DEALERSHIP UNLICENSED
DEALERSHIP NAME LICENSE # FrROM UNTIL FINE
Bartlesville CJDR - Bartlesville 818 6/1/15 4/21/16 $1,000
Mid-America Auto Group - Ada 244 7/1/15 4/21/16 $1,000
Toyota of Lawton - Lawton 813 7/1/15 4/21/16 $1,000
Ada Ford Lincoln - Ada 6 2/4/16 4/21/16 $100
Brad Fenton Motors - Ardmore 56 2/4/16 4/21/16 $100

Fenton Honda - Ardmore 39 4/8/16 4/21/16 $100




