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Kim Glazier, Executive Director April 13, 2018
Oklahoma Board of Nursing

2915 N. Classen Blvd., Ste. 524

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73106

Dear Executive Director Glazier:

This office has received your request for a written Attorney General Opinion regarding action that
the Oklahoma Board of Nursing intends to take pursuant to consent agreements in cases 3.176.18,
3.183.18, 3.223.18, 3.224.18, 3.225.18, 3.230.18, 3.235.18, 3.236.18, 3.237.18, 3.239.18,
3.240.18, 3.244.18, 3.245.18, 3.246.18, 3.247.18, and 3.249.18. Each case involves the licensee’s
failure to provide adequate nursing care, therefore compromising vulnerable patients. The details
of the violations and the proposed action for each licensee are attached on Appendix A.

The Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act authorizes the Board to impose discipline when a nurse “fails
to adequately care for patients or to conform to the minimum standards of acceptable nursing” in
a way that “unnecessarily exposes a patient or other person to risk of harm,” “is guilty of
unprofessional conduct,” or “is guilty of any act that jeopardizes a patient’s life, health or safety.”
59 O.8.Supp.2017, § 567.8(B)(3), (7-8). The Board may reasonably believe that the proposed

actions are necessary to deter future violations.

It is, therefore, the official opinion of the Attorney General that the Oklahoma Board of Nursing
has adequate support for the conclusion that this action advances the State’s policy to protect public
health, safety, and welfare by ensuring nurses meet minimum standards of professional conduct.
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APPENDIX A

Board
Case
No.

Details of Violation

Proposed Action

3.176.18

The licensee failed to administer physician-ordered
medications and treatments to at least five residents.
The licensee was terminated from her position as a
result. Subsequently, the license lapsed. The licensee
has now submitted an application for reinstatement.

Approve reinstatement, but issue a
severe reprimand and require
licensee to complete remedial
education courses and pay a $1,000
administrative penalty.

3.183.18

The licensee previously entered into an agreed order
with the Board after failing to care for a resident. The
licensee is now before the Board for failing to (i)
perform and document an assessment of a resident, (ii)
notify the physician, director of nursing, and the
resident's family of resident's change in condition, and
(iii) verify the resident's medication record prior to
performing a blood sugar test.

Issue a severe reprimand, and
require licensee to complete
remedial education courses and pay
a $500 administrative penalty.

3.223.18

The licensee failed to maintain a chain of custody for
controlled dangerous substance medications and
subsequently tested positive for opiates in a for-cause
drug screening.

Issue a severe reprimand, and
require the licensee to (i) complete
an evaluation and submit to periodic
drug screenings until the end of the
evaluation, (ii) complete remedial
education courses, and (iii) pay a
$500 administrative penalty.

3.224.18

The licensee failed to complete a sponge count after a
caesarean section resulting in a sponge being left
inside a patient's abdomen.

Issue a severe reprimand, and
require the licensee to complete
education courses and pay a $500
administrative penalty.

3.225.18

The licensee improperly stored a human tissue graft,
which was subsequently implanted on a patient. The
licensee failed to notify the physician of the improper
storage, which resulted in improper healing of the
patient's wound and other complications.

Issue a severe reprimand, and
require the licensee to complete
education courses and pay a $500
administrative penalty.

3.230.18

The licensee fell asleep in a patient's room while she
was supposed to be caring for the patient. While the
licensee was sleeping, the patient fell out of bed,
causing multiple injuries.

Suspend license for six months.
Prior to reinstatement, require
licensee to complete remedial
education courses and pay a $500
administrative penalty. If reinstated,
the licensee must complete 1440
cumulative  supervised practice
hours, which must be completed in
two years and cannot be completed
in home health and hospice.




3.235.18

Previously, the licensee allegedly misappropriated
controlled dangerous substances. As a result the
licensee was terminated from her position and allowed
her license to lapse. The licensee has now completed
an application for reinstatement.

Grant reinstatement application, but
require licensee to (i) complete an
evaluation and submit to periodic
drug screenings until the end of the
evaluation, (ii) complete a remedial
education course, and (iii) pay a
$500 administrative penalty.

3.236.18

The licensee, who has been disciplined previously by
the Board, failed to review residents' medication
administration records as required by established
safety standards. As a result, the licensee attempted to
administer incorrect medication to a resident. The
resident refused the medication.

Issue a severe reprimand, and
require the licensee to complete
remedial education courses and pay
a $1,000 administrative penalty.

3.237.18

The licensee, who has been previously disciplined by
the Board, failed to timely document and implement a
physician's order, which delayed a resident's
treatment.

Issue a severe reprimand, and
require the licensee to complete
several education courses and pay a
$500 administrative penalty.

3.239.18

The licensee failed to perform an assessment on a
resident and notify the physician, the director of
nursing and the resident’s family of the resident's
change in condition. Further, the licensee delegated a
task to a CNA, which was outside of a CNA’s scope
of practice.

Issue a severe reprimand, and
require the licensee to complete
several education courses and pay a
$500 administrative penalty.

3.240.18

The licensee failed to perform an assessment on a
resident and notify the physician, the director of
nursing and the resident’s family of the resident's
change in condition. Further, the licensee delegated a
task to two CNAs, which was outside of a CNA’s
scope of practice.

Issue a severe reprimand, and
require the licensee to complete
several education courses and pay a
$500 administrative penalty.

3.244.18

The licensee directed an LPN to inaccurately
document the status of a resident's wounds, and failed
to report maggots in a resident’s wounds.

Require the licensee to (i) complete
1440 cumulative supervised practice
hours, which must be completed in
two years, (ii) complete remedial
education courses, and (iii) pay a
$1,000 administrative penalty.

3.245.18

The licensee failed to report maggots in a resident's
wounds.

Require the licensee to (i) complete
1440 cumulative supervised practice
hours, which must be completed in
two years, (ii) complete remedial
education courses, and (iii) pay a
$500 administrative penalty.




3.246.18 | The licensee committed several medication | Require the licensee to (i) complete
administration violations, including administering | 1440 cumulative supervised practice
incorrect medication to a resident and failing to | hours, which must be completed in
administer ordered medications to residents. two years, (ii) complete remedial

education courses, and (iii) pay a
$1,000 administrative penalty.

3.247.18 | The licensee failed to report maggots in a resident's | Require the licensee to (i) complete
wounds. 1440 cumulative supervised practice

hours, which must be completed in
two years, (ii) complete remedial
education courses, and (iii) pay a
$500 administrative penalty.

3.249.18 | The licensee displayed impaired behavior while on | Issue a severe reprimand, and

duty and refused a drug screening and breath alcohol
test.

require the licensee to (i) complete
an evaluation and submit to periodic
drug screenings for 12 months, (ii)
complete  remedial  education
courses, and (iii) pay a $500
administrative penalty.




