

## ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION 2018-154A

Gaylord Z. Thomas, Executive Director Oklahoma State Board of Examiners for Long Term Care Administrators 2401 N.W. 23<sup>rd</sup> Street, Suite 62 Oklahoma City, OK 73107

May 9, 2018

Dear Executive Director Thomas:

This office has received your request for a written Attorney General Opinion regarding action the Oklahoma State Board of Examiners for Long Term Care Administrators intends to take in cases 18-011(B), 18-012(B), and R18-013(B). The licensees each failed to complete the required continuing education units as required by the Board's rules. The details of the violations and the proposed action for each licensee are attached on Appendix A.

The Board is authorized to regulate the practice of long term care administrators. 63 O.S.2011 & Supp.2017, §§ 330.51—330.65. The Board is authorized to develop, impose, and enforce standards for licensure so that long term care administrators are of good character and otherwise suitable and qualified to serve. 63 O.S.2011, § 330.58(1). When it is a licensee's first offense of not completing required continuing education, the Board's rules require that the Board impose a fine of "\$50.00 per clock hour not completed" and require the "completion of twice the number of clock hours not completed, due within 120 days." OAC 490:1-9-5(d). The Board may reasonably believe that the proposed action will deter future violations.

It is, therefore, the official opinion of the Attorney General that the Oklahoma State Board of Examiners for Long Term Care Administrators has adequate support for the conclusion that the action advances the State's policy upholding minimum standards of competence among long-term care administrators.

MIKE HUNTER

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF OKLAHOMA

**AMANDA OTIS** 

ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL

## APPENDIX A

Case No.	License No.	Required CEUs	Completed CEUs	Proposed Action
18-011(B)	3229	24	15	Impose a \$450 fine and licensee is required to complete 18 CEUs
18-012(B)	3086	24	18	Impose a \$300 fine and licensee is required to complete 12 CEUs
R18-013(B)	R0025	16	0	Impose a \$800 fine and licensee is required to complete 32 CEUs