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Kim Glazier, Executive Director August 14,2018
Oklahoma Board of Nursing

2915 N. Classen Blvd., Ste. 524

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73106

Dear Executive Director Glazier:

This office has received your request for a written Attorney General Opinion regarding action that
the Oklahoma Board of Nursing intends to take pursuant to consent agreement in cases 3.005.19,
3.009.19,3.012.19, 3.015.19, 3.016.19, 3.017.19, 3.018.19, 3.022.19, and 3.023.19. In these cases,
the licensees failed to conform to the minimum standards of acceptable nursing, failed to conduct
themselves in a professional manner and engaged in acts that jeopardized the life, health or safety
of patients. Details of the violations and proposed actions are attached on Appendix A.

The Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act authorizes the Board to impose discipline when a nurse “fails
to adequately care for patients or to conform to the minimum standards of acceptable nursing” in
a way that “unnecessarily exposes a patient or other person to risk of harm,” “is guilty of
unprofessional conduct,” or “is guilty of any act that jeopardizes a patient’s life, health or safety.”
59 O.S.Supp.2017, § 567.8(B)(3), (7-8). The Board may reasonably believe that the proposed

actions are necessary to deter future violations.

It is. therefore, the official opinion of the Attorney General that the Oklahoma Board of Nursing
has adequate support for the conclusion that these actions advance the State’s policy to protect
public health, safety, and welfare by ensuring nurses meet minimum standards of professional
conduct.
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APPENDIX A

Case No.

Details of Violation

Proposed Action

3.005.19

Licensee acted outside the scope of practice by
calling in a prescription for a family friend and
faxing a refill request for the prescription without
prior authorization from a physician.

Require the completion of
education courses, issue a
severe reprimand and impose
a $500 administrative penalty.

3.009.19

Licensee violated safety and infection control
standards by transporting vaccine home, pre-
filling and refrigerating overnight approximately
250 syringes, and, on the following day,
transporting the syringes to the hospital for
administration to hospital staff.

Require the completion of
education courses, issue a
severe reprimand and impose
a $1,000 administrative
penalty.

3.012.19

Licensee performed and documented a focused
assessment and completed new admission
documentation for the resident who arrived after
15-day hospitalization, but failed to request
complete discharge paperwork from the hospital
or notify the nursing home physician of the
resident’s admission. As a result, the resident
failed to receive physician-ordered medication
and was readmitted to the hospital.

Require the completion of
education courses, issue a
severe reprimand and impose
a $250 administrative penalty.

3.015.19

Licensee falsified a resident’s observation form
to state that the licensee had performed a 15
minute in-room visual observation of the
resident. The resident was later found with a clear
bag over the head and no respirations or pulse.

Require 1,440 cumulative
worked hours of supervised
practice to be completed
within two years in a hospital
and/or healthcare agency,
require the completion of
education courses and impose
a $500 administrative penalty.

3.016.19

Licensee did not perform or document a focused
assessment of a resident who fell out of bed,
notify the physician, director of nursing, the
resident’s family or the on-coming licensed
practical nurse of the fall, or complete an incident
report.

Require the completion of
education courses, issue a
severe reprimand and impose
a $500 administrative penalty.
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APPENDIX A (Continued)

3.017.19

Licensee, after seeing a resident on the floor next
to a wheelchair and assisting the resident back
into the wheelchair, did not perform or document
a focused assessment, notify the physician,
hospice nurse, director of nursing, the oncoming
licensed practical nurse or the resident’s family
of the fall, or complete an incident report.

Require the completion of
education courses, issue a
severe reprimand and impose
a $500 administrative penalty.

3.018.19

Licensee, after being informed of blood on a
resident’s bed sheets and that the resident fell
during the previous shift, did not perform or
document a focused assessment, confirm that an
assessment of the resident had been conducted
during the previous shift, or notify the physician,
hospice nurse and resident’s family of a change
in condition.

Require the completion of
education courses, issue a
severe reprimand and impose
a $500 administrative penalty.

3.022.19

Licensee, after being notified that a resident was
complaining of knee pain and difficulty moving
leg, did not perform and document a focused
assessment, timely schedule a physician-ordered
x-ray, or notify nursing home administration and
the resident’s family of a change in condition or
complete an incident report.

Require the completion of
education courses, issue a
severe reprimand and impose
a $500 administrative penalty.

3.023.19

Licensee, while working as the director of
nursing at a nursing home, inappropriately
delegated wound care to a licensed practical
nurse and failed to ensure that staff appropriately
managed resident’s wound care.

Require the completion of
education courses, issue a
severe reprimand and impose
a $1,000 administrative
penalty.




