

## ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION 2018-379A

John W. Maile, Executive Director Oklahoma Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission 421 NW 13th #330 Oklahoma City, OK 73103 October 1, 2018

Dear Executive Director Maile:

This office has received your request for a written Attorney General Opinion regarding action that the Oklahoma Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission intends to take pursuant to consent agreement with used motor vehicle dealer licensee UD-6341. The licensee failed to maintain the required forms for six transactions. The Commission proposes to fine the licensee \$250 per violation for a total fine of \$1,500.

Oklahoma law authorizes the Commission to fine licensees who violate the Commission's rules and its authorizing statutes. 47 O.S.Supp.2017, § 584(A). Board rules require that certain forms be used in vehicle sales, and that licensees retain sales records, including certificates of title, for three years after a sale. OAC 765:10-3-1(a)(1); 10-3-3(a). The Commission may reasonably believe that the proposed action is necessary to deter future violations.

It is, therefore, the official opinion of the Attorney General that the Oklahoma Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission has adequate support for the conclusion that this action advances the State's policy of protecting the public by requiring that used motor vehicle dealers maintain proper records and meet minimum licensing requirements.

MIKE HUNTER

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF OKLAHOMA

Amanda Otis

ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL